Leave a comment

Why I’m Not Marching for #Ferguson or #MikeBrown


Truer words have never been written

by Ebonie Johnson Cooper, Chief Millennial Officer

You won't see me out here. Nope. (source) You won’t see me out here. Nope. | Protestors drop to their knees and put their arms in the air during a rally for Michael Brown Jr., who was shot and killed by a Ferguson police officer Saturday, Tuesday, Aug. 12, 2014, in Clayton, Mo. (AP Photo/St. Louis Post-Dispatch, Laurie Skrivan)

I didn’t march for Trayvon. I didn’t march to Save Our Girls. And I didn’t March for Mike Brown and peace in Ferguson. It’s not that I don’t believe in the causes and I don’t want things to change, it’s that I’m not convinced marching in 2014 is really going to make a difference.

This isn’t 1960 when marching peacefully actually evoked change. Or when the act of sitting in a restaurant sparked a nationwide movement that changed some things. It’s 2014 where people create hashtag campaigns and funky complementary graphics that…

View original post 649 more words

Speak Your Mind

